Raja Ampat, which means “Four Kings”, is located in the West Papua province of eastern Indonesia. The ‘four kings’ are the islands Misool, Batanta, Waigeo and Salawati but the area is actually made up hundreds of islands, some inhabited and many not.  

Here, amongst hundreds of tiny atolls, the marine life is remarkably diverse and brightly coloured reefs are easily explored in the exceptionally clear waters that are the hallmark of this nutrient-rich region. Highlights include large schools of fish, manta rays, black-tipped reef sharks, wobbegong sharks, walking sharks, turtles, Spanish mackerel, tuna, barracuda, pygmy sea horses, nudibranchs galore, ghost pipefish, cuttlefish, crustaceans and stunning pristine coral reefs.